Mini America's Cup

Got a question on the EC12 class rules, ask the secretary
(Note: only items pertaining to the EC12 will be allowed. Other postings will be deleted.)

Moderators: Capt. Flak, bigfoot55

Mini America's Cup

Postby Columbia » Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:34 am

Can some one shed some light on what ever happened to the Mini America's Cup?
Joe
Columbia

Re: Mini America's Cup

Postby Capt. Flak » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:05 am

Wow Joe, I have been sailing the EC12 for 13 years now, and I have only heard about that event as a way back when story. I am happy to let someone chime in and she'd some light.
Joe Walter #24
Class Secretary
Capt. Flak

Postby Columbia » Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:35 am

I know the event was held in Newport, RI. It was a fleet race and not a match race. I have a flyer from circa 1986, that once I can figure out how to post a picture on here, I will like to share with the group.
Joe
Columbia

Postby Capt. Flak » Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:06 am

Sounds good Joe. I am sure we would like to see that. I know there are guys out there who can tell us more about the event. When I get home from this regatta, I can do some research.
Joe Walter #24
Class Secretary
Capt. Flak

Postby s vernon » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:20 am

How to post a photo. Per Paul Proefrock. You have to get it all exactly right, of course for the image to appear.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=236
Scott
s vernon

Postby bigfoot55 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:59 pm

I know we had a long run of the Mini Cup back when, and it was a big deal.

We have in the Class files an 8 page brochure:
1983 Mini-America's Cub Newsletter Vol4 No 1

Like the big boats, it was mostly match racing .

It shows a great deal of support by Newport and the State of R.I. I will scan the brochure and maybe some folks will have more information. Email me for a pdf.

Lead Article says "Cleave of U.K. becomes Defender" Good to have John back at it in 2012. Picture shows a (somewhat) younger John. Lots of interesting tid bits and photos in it.