Spektrum DX6 Battery Charging

Radios, Servos, Winches, Batteries
All things that can make sparks

Moderators: Capt. Flak, bigfoot55, Chuck Luscomb

Spektrum DX6 Battery Charging

Postby Alan Perkins » Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:17 pm

I'm new to EC12's this year (great [:D] decision thanks Scott & Dave)and at my second Regatta "White Rose" in York PA in the 7th race of the day #14 carried on happily down the lake, out of control [:I] . I found that I had not charged the new 2700 Ni-MH battery long enough. When first setting up my radio I read the article in Model Yachting Issue #146 "About Radios and R/C Systems" and found that the 600 mAh battery pack that comes with the radio would not last a full days Regatta so prior to the Regatta I purchased a new 2700 TX pack and two 2700 Rx battery packs. I charged them 24 hours using the charger that comes with the Radio and thought that would be long enough. hahahaha. Charging at 50mA's I'm now told would take somewhere in the region of 72 hours. I want to purchase a new fast charger so [?] 1) what would you recommend & 2) Does anyone have detailed (simple) instructions on modifying the Spekrum radio to use a different faster charger.
Alan Perkins
#GBR14
Alan Perkins

Postby bogordoug » Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:43 pm

I have used the Accu-cycle Elite with no problems. I use 2200 mah battery packs and they change/recharge in less than one hour. It is a perfect battery charger to use, especially for two day regattas when recharging overnight is a must. The only down side is that you must remove the batteries from the transmitter before recharging. But that is no big problem. I change my batteries during the lunch break on a day long regatta.

Good luck. I think the larger batteries is a better solution that the mod to the radio board.

Doug Hale
bogordoug

Postby yachtie » Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:04 pm