RMG winch- to do or not to do?

Radios, Servos, Winches, Batteries
All things that can make sparks

Moderators: Capt. Flak, bigfoot55, Chuck Luscomb

RMG winch- to do or not to do?

Postby The OZ » Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:44 am

OK, I am a rookie in this class. Need some input from experienced sailors. This is my question- to disable the battery use limit or not?
MY mentor, Bob Greer, has been wonderful helping this hearing impaired person set up the winch for me, more than once. I can't hear the 'beeps' at all. Yes, I do recharge the boat batteries before sailing as well as the tx.
The OZ

Postby bodacious » Fri Apr 22, 2005 6:36 pm

Dick...If you are using 6volts I would leave the battery "sensor" on. If you are only using 4.8volts I would turn it off. On the lake you sail on it is a long walk if you do run out of battery power. Freshly charged 6volts with a high capacity should last you all day at the local arena and probably all day at a daylong regatta, especially if you turn the boat off during your "breaks "..... DB BODACIOUS!
bodacious

Postby PegLeg » Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:33 pm

Unless you like to hike, leave the battery limit alone and purchase some NiMh batteries. Besides, not having to walk a lot, risk grounding damage etc the use of the battery control allows you to steer clear of other boats and avoid some really ugly damage.

I sail <u>ALL</u> day on a 2700 Mah "A" size pack of NiMh cells.

Battery trechnology is changing really fast. I saw some 2300 Mah "AA" size NiMh batteries at Wal Mart for less than $4.00 each. I also learned there is a new AA size battery available at 2800 Mah. I'm told that these cost about $10.00 each.

The "standard" NiCd cells will not hold a charge very long and develop a "memory" problem after a short while. NiMh on the other hand does not lose significant charge when not in use. NiMh also does not develop any problems with "memory"