Sail Material

All things above deck

Moderators: Capt. Flak, bigfoot55, Chuck Luscomb

Sail Material

Postby skip241 » Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:57 pm

I've been sailing the EC12 for many years but cannot remember seeing any of the boats with drafting mylar sails. Is there a reason why other classes use this material and the EC12's don't? Thanks. Skip
skip241

Postby s vernon » Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:28 pm

I have been thinking about this subject the last couple of days by coincidence and have a few thoughts. For info, John Bottensek, who does very in Florida, makes his own drafting mylar sails.

An observation at the Melbourne, FL regatta in early December. Reichard and Danny were there. They were flying TriSpi25 DT mains and jibs. I asked Danny about it and he said he likes to use them in wind up to about (I cannot remember but I think he said) 8 or maybe he said 10. The wind was light to medium with just one blaster race (relatively) last race on Saturday. I should have asked why he liked them, but like I said, I have ideas. I think those 2 highly skilled sailors like them because the flimsy sails give them absolute instant feedback about what is going on between the sails and the wind. Stiffer sails would not talk to the skipper as much - would be a tiny bit slower to luff. My opinion anyway. They are so skilled that they can react to every little nuance of wind and beneficial tiny change in sail trim.