Wind indicator

All things above deck

Moderators: Capt. Flak, bigfoot55, Chuck Luscomb

Wind indicator

Postby William Wing » Tue Oct 07, 2003 11:24 pm

I'm looking for suggestions on a wind indicator. I have a Red V-tail 4.5 inch, and it is mighty hard to see. What do you use? Thanks from a new boat owner.
William Wing

Postby Capt. Flak » Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:29 am

I use the windvane that Mike Zellanack makes. They are perfectly balanced and are visible from a good distance. I did however make one small change. I added a telltail to the end of it. In the very light air a rigid windvane is not much good, but the little extra tail hanging off the end helps you see the slightest breeze.

Mike also sells the telltails.

Joe Walter #24
Capt. Flak

Postby Greg Vasileff » Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:47 pm

Oh goody, my first post here.

I use feathers. I've been using them for a few years now and I have found nothing near as good. Members of my club have now started having me make some for them or are making them themselves. It's very easy. These feathers are outstanding in supper light to just about nil air.
I've been using store bought dyed feathers from Walmart, in their craft department. Make sure you check each bag to see the reds and oranges are good and big, about 6".
With the abundance of Turkeys around here these days, I have started using their dropped tail feathers for big windvanes. Some are great and some are N/G. If they are good, I trim them up, maybe add a touch of paint to the tip, and press them in a book after I bend and snap them into a straight shape.

I use a small brass rod and some aluminum tube to make the pivot. It has not failed yet. I also guarantee that these will be the lightest windvanes you will ever find.

Here is a photo of one of my large turkey feathers. It’s about 11â€
Greg Vasileff

Postby lee krusienski » Fri Dec 19, 2003 7:58 am