ship's power...what's the correct voltage?

This is for those that like chat room doings that are not related directly to the sharing of information regarding the hobby/recreational interests in the EC12.

Moderators: Capt. Flak, bigfoot55, Chuck Luscomb

ship's power...what's the correct voltage?

Postby Les Ervin » Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:28 am

I recently borrowed a boat from someone. I'm new to RC boating but am a competitive RC airplane pilot. The boat came with a 7.2V pack but from my experience with aircraft 5 cells (6.0 V) is the maximum number of NiCd or NiMh cells a person should run the RX and servos from. This pack has 6 cells. Any thoughts? I should also tell you that when I move the sail winch the rudder servo oscillates briefly and then re-centers.

Les
Les Ervin

Postby greerdr » Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:56 am

What reciever? Are you using an RMG ? (you should)I run a lot of volts + amps into my RMG (it will handle 9 volts) and have almost no problems.Use a voltmeter and know where you are.

R.C.Greer
greerdr

Postby Les Ervin » Tue May 15, 2007 6:05 pm

Since my post above I have discovered that my boat has the 2 channel futaba receiver, pn: FP-R122JE and has what is called a BEC (Battery Eliminator Circuit) which is really a voltage regulator that allows the receiver to operate at up to 8.4V. So that is why it is OK to run a 7.2V pack.
Les Ervin

Postby PegLeg » Fri May 25, 2007 9:49 am

Les

The 8.4 rating on the receiver is for a max. anything less is OK. Most servos (aircraft) have been operating and rated for 4.8v (4 cell) due to the desire to minimize weight.

With larger sail craft where weight of the batteries is less of a factor but the power needs are higher we seem to have drifted to 5 cells (6v). The added voltage gives higher torque and faster speed, the added battery weight usually is placed low for the effect of added "ballast".